Arthur Beaumont Distinguished Service Award

The Arthur Beaumont Distinguished Service Award honours members of CAIMS/SCMAI for outstanding service to the society or to Applied Mathematics in Canada. The award is named after its first recipient, and was initiated as a means to honour Arthur for his years of unselfish service to the society. Arthur was a founding member of CAIMS/SCMAI and acted as its Secretary/Treasurer for eight years.

The award will consist of a commemorative plaque that will be presented at the CAIMS*SCMAI Annual Meeting. A travel allowance will be provided.

Nominations shall consist of:

  • a letter outlining the candidate's contributions to Canadian Applied Mathematics and signed by at least two CAIMS members,
  • a curriculum vitae of the nominee.

To submit an application for this award, go to Nominations

2016 Prize Winner: Sharene Bungay

The recipient of the CAIMS Arthur Beaumont Distinguished Service Award for 2016 is Sharene Bungay from the Department of Computer Science at Memorial University of Newfoundland, for her outstanding service to CAIMS as a Board Member from July 2009 to June 2011, CAIMS Secretary from July 2011 to June 2015 and Co-Chair of the CAIMS Annual Meeting in St. John's, Newfoundland, in 2010.

Past Arthur Beaumont Distinguished Service Award Winners