CAIMS/PIMS Early Career Award

The prize is to be awarded to a researcher less than ten years past the date of Ph.D. at the time of nomination (i.e. 2006 or later for 2016 prize). The prize recognizes exceptional research in any branch of applied mathematics, interpreted broadly. The nominee's research should have been conducted primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university.

The award will consist of a cash prize of $1,000 and a commemorative plaque that will be presented at the CAIMS Annual Meeting. The recipient will be invited to deliver a plenary lecture at the CAIMS Annual Meeting in the year of the award. A travel allowance will be provided.

Nominations shall consist of:

  • a curriculum vitae
  • a publication list
  • a cover letter explaining the basis of the nomination
  • a maximum of three additional letters of support, at least two of which should be from references who are neither former PhD/postdoc mentors nor collaborators. In the case of very interdisciplinary research, the support letters should address the nominee's contributions in both applied mathematics and the area of application.

Only electronic submissions will be accepted.

Unsuccessful nominations for candidates who continue to meet the eligibility criteria may be renominated with an updated CV and publication list, and if desired, new letters of support.

To submit an application for this award, go to Nominations

2016 Prize Winner: Jean-Philippe Lessard

CAIMS*SCMAI and PIMS are pleased to announce that Professor Jean-Philippe Lessard of Université Laval is the winner of the 2016 CAIMS/PIMS Early Career Award in Applied Mathematics. Professor Lessard obtained his PhD in 2007 from the Georgia Institute of Technology. He held postdoctoral positions at the Free University of Amsterdam, Rutgers and Princeton, and is now associate professor at Université Laval. He is also a member of the Groupe Interdisciplinaire de Recherche en Éléments Finis (GIREF), which brings together researchers and research groups from a number of universities  to promote research, development, specialist training and interaction with industry, in the field of modeling and numerical simulation.

Professor Lessard’s research interests are in dynamical systems. In particular, he uses and develops rigorous computational methods, topological methods and analytic estimates for the study of solutions of partial differential equations, delay differential equations and ordinary differential equations. Professor Lessard has made substantial contributions to the theory of rigorous computing, and was cited for being “one of the world leading experts in rigorous computing” and "at the forefront of applied mathematics in Canada, blending traditional analysis with traditional computation to build something entirely new."

Professor Lessard will receive his award and deliver a plenary lecture at the 2016 Annual CAIMS*SCMAI meeting at the University of Alberta in June, 2016.

Past CAIMS/PIMS Early Career Award Winners

Prize Award year Recipient
2015 Jane Heffernan
2014 Geoff Wild
2013 Serdar Yüksel
2012 Theodore Kolokolnikov
2011 Adam Oberman
2010 Daniel Coombs